• Milton Stover Eisenhower named eleventh President; resigned, 1956.


  • Ogontz and Scranton undergraduate centers opened.
  • School of Business Administration established.
  • Distinguished Alumnus Awards created by trustees. First five awards presented.
  • Alumni Institute of faculty lectures became annual feature of June alumni reunions.


  • Penn State Foundation established.


  • The Pennsylvania State University became official name.
  • Associate degree (two-year) program in engineering started.
  • Penn State Alumni Fund for annual giving begun. Was made part of Penn State Foundation in 1954.
  • Schools renamed Colleges: Agriculture, Business Administration, Chemistry and Physics, Education, Engineering, Home Economics, the Liberal Arts, Mineral Industries, and Physical Education and Athletics.


  • Alumni Memorial Scholarships for freshmen established.


  • Centennial celebrated at a birthday dinner, February 22.
  • Student union building opened; named Hetzel Union Building (HUB) in honor of President Hetzel.
  • University park postal substation opened in HUB.
  • Nuclear Research Reactor facility dedicated.
  • Ground broken for all-faith chapel named for Helen Eakin Eisenhower, late wife of Dr. Eisenhower.
  • U.S. President Dwight D. Eisenhower was commencement speaker in June, at Beaver Field.
  • Closed-circuit instructional television begun.
  • Ice-skating pavilion opened; roof added in 1960.


  • Dr. Eric A. Walker named twelfth President; inaugurated in 1957.
  • Dr. Erwin W. Mueller perfected field ion microscope.
  • Division of Counseling established; Dr. Robert G. Bernreuter, first director.
  • University Press established with Louis H. Bell, first director; first book published in 1958 -- Toward Gettysburg by E. J. Nichols.


  • Pre-registration counseling became mandatory for freshmen; first of its kind.
  • General Education program initiated.
  • Distinguished Visiting Professor program started.
  • Administration reorganized into Council of Academic Deans and administrative committees on procedures, continuing education, research, and student affairs.
  • Penn State Medal established; awarded for outstanding contributions to higher education.
  • Five vice presidencies created by Board of Trustees: research (Dr. M. A. Farrell); academic affairs (Dr. L. E. Dinnis); finance (S. K. Hostetter); business administration (O. R. MacKenzie); development (C. S. Wyand).


  • Center for Continuing Liberal Education established.
  • Long-range development plan adopted by Board of Trustees.
  • University elected to Association of American Universities.
  • Electronic computer facilities installed.
  • Liberal Arts research scholarships established.
  • McKay Donkin succeeded S. K. Hostetter as vice president for finance.
  • Penn State Woman of the Year Award created by trustees; first recipient, Julia Gregg Brill.
  • Superior Teaching Award established as Sigma Tau Award; Dr. Kinsley Smith, first recipient; renamed President's Award for Superior Teaching in 1959 and Lindback Award in 1963.
  • New Kensington and Wyomissing undergraduate centers established.


  • Library's rare book collection given full-time curator, Charles W. Mann.
  • Undergraduate centers designated Commonwealth Campuses; separated from Extension.
  • "Open Class" policy approved by University Senate.
  • University elected charter member of University Corporation for Atmospheric Research.
  • Stone Valley Recreation Area established.
  • Tuition made uniform for all campuses of the University.