• Dr. Joseph Shortlidge named sixth President; resigned next year.


  • Professor James Y. McKee was acting President.
  • Jordan Soil Fertility Plots laid out; oldest continuous test plots with fertilizers in America; moved to new site in miniature size in 1960.
  • Shop instruction, in iron, began in Old Main basement.


  • Dr. George W. Atherton became seventh President; died in office in 1906; served 24 years -- longest administration.


  • Harriet A. McElwain, lady principal until 1902; made great gains for women students.


  • First foreign woman student enrolled, Elizabeth B. Perry of La Prairie, Quebec, Canada.


  • Mechanic Arts Building (temporary frame building) dedicated.


  • Agricultural Experiment Station established by Legislature under 1887 Federal Hatch Act; completed in 1889, first director, Dr. Henry P. Armsby, noted for animal nutrition work and the respiration calorimeter.
  • First biennial state appropriation of $100,000 provided first maintenance funds and launched first major building program: Armory, Old Botany, Chemistry and Physics Laboratory, Ladies' Cottage, Experiment Station and faculty residences.
  • First student newspaper, Free Lance, published monthly.
  • Electric lights and other modern features installed in Old Main.
  • President Atherton elected first president of American Association of Agricultural Colleges and Experiment Stations (now National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges).


  • Phi Gamma Delta chartered; first permanently established men's national fraternity on campus; Beta Theta Pi was second.


  • First La Vie published as junior class yearbook by class of 1890; La Vie changed to senior yearbook in 1930.