Databases by Subject

Show all Databases A-Z

Databases are search engines for curated scholarly information such as articles and journals, newspapers, datasets, eBooks.

Open Access only

Databases

Nineteenth (19th) Century Masterfile is the primary index for materials published before 1930. This database covers American and British periodicals, newspapers, books, image archives, government documents, and U.S. Patents. A select number of periodical titles are available in full text.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Open Access
A searchable database of professional and graduate research studies about the 4-H Program. Since 4‑H began more than 100 years ago, it has become the nation’s largest youth development organization. The 4‑H idea is simple: help young people and their families gain the skills needed to be proactive forces in their communities and develop ideas for a more innovative economy.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Agricultural and Extension Education
This online collection provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. True to 60 MINUTES’ iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. The broad range of content offers boundless applications for students and researchers. This resource also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning, whose timely news pieces, cultural features, and newsmaker profiles form an ideal complement to 60 MINUTES content.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
The A to Z World Business database includes information about business culture and practices in 100 countries. It also includes up-to-date information on importing, exporting, and logistics. This database is especially useful for students enrolled in International Business courses, Supply Chain Management courses and students participating in global immersion programs.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
The Alliance for Audited Media's Media IntelligenceCenter is a trusted source for cross-media data and analytics, providingindependently verified print and digital media data that can be used toperform competitive analyses and for media buys. Includes distribution datafor nearly 2,700 of the top publishers in North America.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Coverage of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. Includes links to the full text of 120 journals.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • English Literature
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Accounting
  • Actuarial Science
  • Adult Education and Workforce Education
  • Advertising
  • Agribusiness Management
  • Business and Economics
  • Corporate Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Economics
  • Education: Organization, Development, and Change / Training and Development
  • Engineering
  • Engineering Management
  • Finance
  • Graphic Design
  • Health Policy and Administration
  • Hospitality Management
  • Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering
  • Management
  • Management Information Systems
  • Marketing
  • Recreation, Park, and Tourism Management
  • Risk Management
  • Supply Chain and Information Systems
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.App information
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Applied Demography
  • Applied Linguistics
  • Communication Arts and Sciences
  • Communications and Media Studies
  • Criminal Justice
  • Folklore and Folklife Studies
  • Game Studies
  • Hospitality Management
  • Information Sciences and Technology
  • Latin American, Caribbean, and Latina/o Studies
  • Sociology
  • Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures
  • Surveying Engineering
Open Access
The ACCESS PA Database is a world wide web-based bibliographic union catalog and resource sharing guide to over 2,500 school, public, academic and special libraries in Pennsylvania. The database contains over 5.6 million unique records from the catalogs of Pennsylvania library collections covering over 35 million Pennsylvania library holdings.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Agricultural and Extension Education
  • Ancient Greek
  • Ancient Rome
  • Animal Science
  • Applied Demography
  • Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Biology
  • Children's Literature and Literacy Education
  • Criminal Justice
  • Education
  • Entomology
  • Environmental Science and Resource Management
  • Food Science
  • Forensic Sciences
  • Forestry
  • Health
  • Human Development and Family Studies
  • Islamic Studies
  • Jewish Studies
  • Kinesiology, Exercise, and Sport Science
  • Latin
  • Mycology and Mushroom Production
  • Nursing
  • Nutrition
  • Plant Sciences
  • Political Science
  • Religious Studies
  • Science and Math Education
  • Social Studies and World Languages Education
  • Sociology
  • Turfgrass
  • Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Accessible Archives provides access to the full texts of articles from a selection of 18th & 19th century American newspapers (more than 175,000 articles). The newspapers selected are especially useful for researching African American, women's studies, and Pennsylvania topics but can also help with many other types of historical research. Keywords: Civil War, colonial, revolution, Revolutionary War, abolition, abolitionists, slavery.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
AccessMedicine® is an online reference and practice resource providing access to more than 85 medical titles, thousands of images, integrated drug database, diagnostic tools, multimedia, patient education, and more, all on a comprehensive search platform and accessible on a mobile device.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Nutrition
AccessUN is an index to United Nations documents and publications, from 1966-to date. The database is used to access the microfiche collection held in the Social Sciences Library, Second Floor, West Pattee.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Community and Economic Development
The foremost index to a finite collection of United Nations Development Programme Project Reports issued and held by UN headquarters between the years 1972-1998. The index provides access to evaluative, technical and terminal reports (available imicrofiche in the Social Sciences Library)
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Archives Direct is a suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive. Penn State has access to the following collections through this portal: Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980; Confidential Print: Africa,1834-1966; Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969; Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969; Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961; Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980; Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980; Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952; Foreign Office Files for the Middle East,1971-1981; Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963; The Nixon Years, 1969-1974; Women in The National Archives.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. The collections cover a broad range of topics in the humanities and social sciences. The stated themes are Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Literature, Politics, Theatre, War and Conflict. Search across all of Penn State's collections via the AMexplorer search box, or browse the list of links.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
* Information on over 20,000 ad agencies and 120,000 campaigns of all types* Over 1,000 new ads added each week* Downloads available for classroom use and assignments
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Advertising
  • Marketing
AdSpender provides advertising expenditures for over 3 million brands across 18 media, such as TV, Magazines, Newspapers, Radio, Internet and Outdoor advertising. AdSpender data is organized by product category, parent company, subsidiary and brand. AdSpender provides a top-level summary of the multi-media advertising marketplace. Limited to 6 concurrent users.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Includes full-text reports of state and federal laws and regulations, industry self-regulating guidelines, and new developments. Also includes explanatory notes to help interpret the law and and explanations by authors with expertise in advertising, marketing, and intellectual property issues. CCH IntelliConnect will be replaced by CCH Cheetah near the end of 2018. All content in this database is in CCH Cheetah.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
The Aerospace Database provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. Coverage: 1962-present.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • Aerospace Engineering
  • Military Studies
From communal struggle to creative outpourings: uncover the everyday lives of African Americans spanning two turbulent centuries. A diverse range of primary source material is showcased in this collection that focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community. Through pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, it reveals the challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and the expressions of a unique African American culture and identity.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Beginning with the Freedom's Journal (NY)--the first African American newspaper published in the United States--this database includes page reproductions of African American newspapers from every region of the United States.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, organizational newsletters, and other genres. Includes many Rare and short-lived titles.
DATABASE SUBJECTS
  • African American History
  • History
A fully searchable collection of over 40 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features English- and foreign-language news from Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other countries.
DATABASE SUBJECTS