Skip to content

Dissertations and Theses:
Finding Aids, Indexes, and Online Dissertation Projects

Penn State Dissertations and Theses

The CAT

Use The CAT to locate Doctoral Dissertations, Master’s Theses and Papers, and Bachelor’s Theses and Papers written at Penn State. Once in The CAT, use the advanced search to limit material type to search dissertations.

Penn State Electronic Theses and Dissertations   (Full Text)

Electronic copies of many Penn State Dissertations and Master’s Theses. Browse by author or department and search the full text by keywords. Theses and dissertations in the system are also listed and linked in the CAT.

Dissertations and Theses from Other Institutions

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
This database provides bibliographic access to over 1.6 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Full citations and abstracts are available for most dissertations published since 1980 and 24 page previews are available for those produced since 1997. UMI provides the opportunity for users to purchase copies of these dissertations, you may borrow a copy from the degree-granting institution through interlibrary loan. Please check with a public service desk for more information.

Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) contains citations (1861-to present) and abstracts (1980-to present) for doctoral dissertations from American and Canadian universities, and some international universities.

  • Many CIC Dissertations and theses are available for free download from the mid 1990's to date
  • For dissertations completed at most major universities since 1997 (and sometimes earlier), you should have the option to download a PDF full-text version of the dissertation – look for the “Download" link. You may be requested to pay for the item if it is not from a “free download” institution. Before paying, check first to see if it is available for loan through Illiad via WorldCat.

Dissertations via WorldCAT
Search dissertations owned by libraries other than Penn State. Requests for loans of theses/dissertations can be submitted through Illiad. Some institutions will lend their dissertations, while others may not.

University of Texas, Austin, Office of Graduate Studies, Electronic Dissertations
Doctoral students graduating after the spring of 2001 from the University of Texas at Austin will be required to submit an electronic version of their dissertation. This web site describes the process and links to the first abstracts submitted electronically.

Virginia Tech Digital Libraries and Archives
Virginia Tech, the institution where the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations originated, requires graduate students to submit their theses electronically. This site provides access to about 3000 theses and dissertations in three different forms, from only titles and abstracts to the full text of the work. Some dissertations may be restricted to the Virginia Tech community or may be completely blocked.

West Virginia University Electronic Theses and Dissertations
In order to make the research of both their doctoral and master's candidate accessible, West Virginia University is also requiring doctoral as well as master's candidates to submit their theses electronically. This site provides information about their program and links to over 800 documents.

Other National Library of Theses and Dissertations member institutions have made their graduates' work available electronically. Please check the list of NDLTD participants to view other electronic dissertation resources.

top
Foreign Dissertations and Theses

 Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD). An international coalition of 102 universities and consortia that are establishing sites aiding in the dissemination of information conveyed through graduate research. In support of this effort, Penn State provides various levels of access to doctoral dissertations that have been submitted electronically. Some dissertations are available to all through the World Wide Web. Some are restricted to Penn State users only, while others are completely restricted. Participation in this program is limited to doctoral candidates, and submission of an electronic dissertation is currently optional.

Abes: Agence Bibliographique de l'Enseignement Superieur
Citations to French dissertations.

Australasian Digital Theses Program
Both citation and full-text access to a few thousand theses and dissertations published in Australia.

<The British Library
The British Library provides access to citations of theses from British universities (most doctoral theses from the early 1970s onward), from the United States (475,000 doctoral theses), and from Canada (several hundred doctoral theses from 1980 forward).

Index to theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland and the Council for National Academic Awards
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.

Center for Research Libraries Foreign Dissertation Database
This site offers bibliographic access to a collection of over 750,000 foreign dissertations held by the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. To borrow a copy of a dissertation from CRL, please place an Interlibrary Loan request at your library.

Theses Canada Portal
Launched by National Library of Canada. A website that provides free access to 46,000 full text electronic Canadian theses. Searching of over 220,000 Canadian theses held by the Library and Archives Canada is also available.

Dissertation and Thesis FAQ
Dissertation and Thesis frequently asked questions.
top

Search


Contact



Get Help